Schwindel & Vertigo Behandlung

Epley-Manöver | Posteriore BPPV-Behandlung | Vertigo-Behandlung

Besuchen Sie unseren Shop
Epley-Manöver

Epley-Manöver | Posteriore BPPV-Behandlung | Vertigo-Behandlung

Gutartiger paroxysmaler Lagerungsschwindel, abgekürzt BPPV, ist das häufigste Innenohrproblem und die Ursache für Schwindel oder ein falsches Drehgefühl. Häufige Ursachen sind Kopftraumata oder Ohrinfektionen, obwohl die meisten Fälle idiopathisch zu sein scheinen.BPPV kann durch Ablagerungen im Bogengang des Ohrs verursacht werden, die sich auch dann noch bewegen, wenn sich der Kopf nicht mehr bewegt. Dies führt zu ständigen Bewegungen, die mit anderen sensorischen Informationen in Konflikt geraten.

Die Bogengänge sind mit einer Flüssigkeit namens Endolymphe gefüllt. Das wichtigste Sinnesorgan in jedem Kanal ist die Crista, die durch die Bewegung der Cupula stimuliert wird. Die Bewegung des Kopfes führt zu einer relativen Bewegung der Endolymphe im Bogengang, wodurch die Cupula und die eingebetteten Haare der Haarzellen gebogen werden und eine Stimulation des entsprechenden Vestibularnervs erfolgt. Als Ursache für BPPV wird eine Kanalithiasis angenommen, die in 85 bis 95 % aller Fälle den hinteren Bogengang betrifft. Bei der Canalithiasis wird angenommen, dass frei schwimmende Trümmer im Bogengang wie ein Kolben wirken und die Endolymphe auch dann noch weiterbewegen, wenn die Kopfbewegung zum Stillstand gekommen ist. Dies führt zu einer Bewegung der Cupula und zum Verbiegen der Haare der Haarzellen und provoziert Schwindel.

Etwa 20 % der BPPV-Fälle verschwinden innerhalb von 4 Wochen und bis zu 50 % innerhalb von 3 Monaten ohne Behandlung, aber 10-18 % der Fälle treten nach 1 Jahr erneut auf. Das modifizierte Epley-Manöver besteht aus einer Reihe von vier Bewegungen des Kopfes und des Körpers, um die Ablagerungen aus dem hinteren Bogengang zu entfernen.

In einem Cochrane-Review von Hilton et al. (2014) fanden die Autoren heraus, dass das Epley-Manöver effektiver war als Scheinmanöver oder Kontrolle. Beim Vergleich zwischen Epley und dem Semont-Manöver wurde kein Unterschied festgestellt. Die Erfolgschancen bei dieser Überprüfung wurden mit bis zu 80 % angegeben. Beachten Sie, dass das Epley-Manöver zu Übelkeit führen kann, was bei 17-32 % der Patienten berichtet wurde. Stellen Sie also sicher, dass Sie einen Eimer zur Hand haben, falls Ihr Patient ihn braucht. Der Patient sollte darüber aufgeklärt werden, dass sich seine Schwindelsymptome wiederholen und dass ihm möglicherweise übel wird. Achten Sie außerdem darauf, dass Ihr Patient die Bewegung des Halses tolerieren kann.

Um das modifizierte Epley-Manöver durchzuführen, setzen Sie Ihren Patienten auf die Behandlungsbank im Schneidersitz mit einem Kissen auf dem Tisch, das dafür sorgt, dass der Kopf des Patienten in einer Sekunde auf 20° gestreckt wird. Drehen Sie den Kopf Ihres Patienten um 45 Grad nach rechts, um das Manöver für den rechten hinteren Bogengang durchzuführen. Wenn also Ihr Dix-Hallpike-Test in dieser Position positiv war, sollten Sie so vorgehen. Die Stufen sind ein exaktes Spiegelbild der linken Seite. Führen Sie den Patienten nun in einer schnellen Bewegung nach hinten, so dass der Kopf des Patienten immer noch gedreht und durch das Kissen auf 20 Grad gestreckt ist. Halten Sie diese Position für 20-30 Sekunden. Drehen Sie dann den Kopf Ihres Patienten schnell um 90 Grad zur nicht betroffenen Seite und halten Sie diese Position für weitere 20 Sekunden. Lassen Sie Ihren Patienten anschließend auf die linke Schulter rollen und drehen Sie seinen Kopf schnell um weitere 90 Grad, so dass sein Kopf in einem 45°-Winkel nach unten zeigt. Halten Sie diese Position wiederum 20-30 Sekunden lang. Bringen Sie den Patienten anschließend in eine aufrechte Sitzposition, um das Manöver abzuschließen. Eine Meta-Analyse von Devaiah et al. aus dem Jahr 2010 hat gezeigt, dass Einschränkungen nach dem Manöver nicht notwendig sind, da sie keinen signifikanten Nutzen im Vergleich zu keinen Einschränkungen gezeigt haben.

In der Literatur wurde die positive Wirkung mehrerer Behandlungssitzungen bei Patienten mit persistierendem Nystagmus nach dem ersten Manöver nachgewiesen. Es ist zu beachten, dass eine Umwandlung des Kanals vom hinteren in den seitlichen Bogengang bei 6 bis 7 % der Patienten auftritt, die mit Verfahren zur Repositionierung der Kanalsteine behandelt werden. Daher ist es wichtig, auch die Kanalvariante der BBPV zu erkennen.

Ein weiteres wirksames Manöver bei pBPPV ist das Semont-Manöver. Wenn Sie einen Verdacht auf laterale BPPV haben, müssen Sie das BBQ-Rollmanöver durchführen.

IN DIESER KOSTENLOSEN MINI-VIDEOSERIE LERNEN SIE, DIE HÄUFIGSTE URSACHE VON SCHWINDEL ZU BEHANDELN.

Vestibulärer Reha-Kurs kostenlos

 

Referenzen:

Hilton MP, Pinder DK. Das Epley-Manöver (Verschiebung des Gehörgangs) bei gutartigem paroxysmalem Lagerungsschwindel. Cochrane-Datenbank für systematische Überprüfungen. 2014(12).

Bhattacharyya N, Gubbels SP, Schwartz SR, Edlow JA, El-Kashlan H, Fife T, Holmberg JM, Mahoney K, Hollingsworth DB, Roberts R, Seidman MD. Leitlinie für die klinische Praxis: Gutartiger paroxysmaler Lagerungsschwindel (Aktualisierung). Otolaryngologie-Kopf- und Halschirurgie. 2017 Mar;156(3_suppl):S1-47.

Devaiah AK, Andreoli S. Postmaneuver-Restriktionen bei benignem paroxysmalem Lagerungsschwindel: eine Meta-Analyse der Daten einzelner Patienten. Otolaryngologie-Kopf- und Halschirurgie. 2010 Feb;142(2):155-9.

Gefällt Ihnen, was Sie lernen?

Einen Kurs verfolgen

  • Lerne überall, wann immer und in eigenem Tempo
  • Interaktive Online-Kurse von einem preisgekrönten Team
  • CEU/CPD-Akkreditierung in den Niederlanden, Belgien, den USA und dem Vereinigten Königreich
Bewertungen

Was andere über den Online-Kurs "Vestibuläre Rehabilitation" sagen

Online Kurs

Lernen Sie von einem Top-Experten auf diesem Gebiet, wie man Schwindel und Benommenheit beurteilt und behandelt

MEHR SEHEN
Online-Kurs-Banner-Hintergrund
Online-Kurs Vestibuläre Rehabilitation
Schauen Sie sich unser Alles-in-Einem-Buch an!
Laden Sie unsere KOSTENLOSE App herunter

Dizziness & Vertigo Treatment

Epley Maneuver | Posterior BPPV Treatment | Vertigo Treatment

Buying options
Epley maneuver

Epley Maneuver | Posterior BPPV Treatment | Vertigo Treatment

Benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, abbreviated as BPPV is the most common inner ear problem and cause of vertigo, or a false sense of spinning. Common causes are head trauma or ear infections, although most cases appear to be idiopathic.BPPV can be caused by debris in the semicircular canal of the ear, which continues to move after the head has stopped moving. This causes ongoing movement that conflicts with other sensory information.

The semicircular canals are filled with a fluid called endolymph. The main sense organ in each canal is called the crista, which is stimulated by the movement of the cupula. Head movement causes relative movement of the endolymph in the semicircular canal, which bends the cupula and the embedded hairs of the hair cells and causes stimulation of the relevant vestibular nerve. The cause of BPPV is believed to be canalithiasis, affecting the posterior semicircular canal in 85 to 95% of all cases. In canalithiasis, free-floating debris in the semicircular canal is hypothesized to act as a plunger, causing continuing movement of the endolymph even after head movement has ceased. This causes movement of the cupula and bending of the hairs of the hair cells and provokes vertigo.

Around 20% of BPPV cases are said to resolve within 4 weeks and up to 50% up to 3 months without treatment, but recurrence is reported between 10-18% after 1 year. The modified Epley maneuver involves a series of four movements of the head and body in order to move the debris out of the posterior semicircular canal.

In a Cochrane review by Hilton et al. (2014), the authors found that the Epley maneuver was more effective than sham maneuvers or control. There was no difference when Epley was compared to the Semont maneuver. The chance of success in this review was described to be as high as 80%. Be aware that the Epley maneuver can lead to nausea which was reported in 17-32% of patients. So make sure you have a bucket at hand, in case your patient might need it. The patient should be counseled that his symptoms of vertigo will be reproduced and that he might feel nauseous. On top of that, make sure that your patient is able to tolerate neck movement.

To perform the modified Epley maneuver have your patient sit on the treatment bench in long-sit with a pillow on the table that will make sure that the patient’s head is extended to 20° in a second. Rotate your patient’s head 45 degrees to the right in order to perform the maneuver for the right posterior semicircular canal. So if your Dix-Hallpike test was positive in this position, this is how you start. The steps are an exact mirror for the left side. Now take the patient backward in a quick movement so that your patient’s head is still rotated and extended to 20 degrees by the pillow. Maintain this position for 20-30s. Next, quickly turn your patient’s head 90 degrees toward the unaffected side and hold this position for another 20 seconds. Afterward, have your patient roll onto his left shoulder and quickly turn his head a further 90 degrees so that his head is facing down at a 45° angle. Again, hold this position for 20-30 seconds. Afterward, bring the patient into the upright sitting position to complete the maneuver. A meta-analysis from Devaiah et al. from the year 2010 showed that post maneuver restrictions are not necessary as they have not shown any significant benefit compared to no restrictions.

The literature demonstrated beneficial effects of multiple treatment sessions for patients with persistent nystagmus following the initial maneuver. Be aware, that canal conversion from the posterior into the lateral semicircular canal occurs in 6-7%of those treated with canalith repositioning procedures. Therefore, it is important to recognize the canal variant of BBPV as well.

Another effective maneuver for pBPPV is the Semont maneuver. In case you suspect lateral BPPV, you will have to perform the BBQ roll maneuver.

LEARN TO TREAT THE MOST COMMON CAUSE OF VERTIGO IN THIS FREE MINI-VIDEO-SERIES

Vestibular rehab course free

 

References:

Hilton MP, Pinder DK. The Epley (canalith repositioning) manoeuvre for benign paroxysmal positional vertigo. Cochrane database of systematic reviews. 2014(12).

Bhattacharyya N, Gubbels SP, Schwartz SR, Edlow JA, El-Kashlan H, Fife T, Holmberg JM, Mahoney K, Hollingsworth DB, Roberts R, Seidman MD. Clinical practice guideline: benign paroxysmal positional vertigo (update). Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery. 2017 Mar;156(3_suppl):S1-47.

Devaiah AK, Andreoli S. Postmaneuver restrictions in benign paroxysmal positional vertigo: an individual patient data meta-analysis. Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery. 2010 Feb;142(2):155-9.

Like what you're learning?

Follow a course

  • Learn from wherever, whenever, and at your own pace
  • Interactive online courses from an award-winning team
  • CEU/CPD accreditation in the Netherlands, Belgium & UK
Reviews

What others say about the Online Course "Vestibular Rehabilitation"

  • Physiotutors Avatar
    Physiotutors
    27/08/21

    Vestibular Rehabilitation Firat really delivered on this course! While we have had some training in vestibular diagnostics and rehab in our own training, this course is on a whole other level! Building this course with Firat has increased our knowledge dramatically and we can absolutely recommend this course to any Physiotherapist as patients with vestibular problems will be among the most grateful patients when treated right.

    Anne Cahill Avatar
    Anne Cahill
    02/08/21

    Vestibular Rehabilitation Thank You!!
    This is a brilliant course. The learning materials are concise, clear and comprehensive. All the information given is easy to navigate, up to date and very useful for daily clinical vestibular rehabilitation practice. It is a much appreciated educational resource. Amazing!! Thank you for this excellent course.

    Astrid Schubart Avatar
    Astrid Schubart
    27/06/21

    Vestibular Rehabilitation I completed the first part of the Vertigo and Vestibular Therapist training this weekend and it's been a long time since I've done such a great structured training. Lots of practical content . The lecturer shows in detail what is important . Firat Kesgin offers a lot of additional information and patient information.
    I am really excited and looking forward to part 2.

Online Course

Learn to Assess and Treat Vertigo & Dizziness from a Top Expert in the Field

SEE MORE
Online course banner background
Vestibular Rehabilitation Online Course
Wait before you go!LEARN TO TREAT THE MOST COMMON CAUSE OF VERTIGO

In this FREE video series by 
Vestibular Rehab Specialist
FIRAT KESGIN